Porridge Radio’s New Song “The Rip” Is About Shifting Power Dynamics

Porridge Radio has shared a video for their new single, “The Rip”.

The track comes from their upcoming album, Water slide, diving board, ladder to the sky, out May 20 via Secretly Canadian. The gritty alt-rock track features driven percussion, groaning guitar riffs and anthemic, powerful vocals. Directed by Ella, Dana Margolin’s sister, the video follows Dana running on a treadmill through a misty forest filled with monsters.

“‘The Rip’ was the last song to be finished for the album, and we finished it about a week before going into the studio to record it in March 2021. We wanted it to sound like pop massive, like Charli XCX, but with instrumentation from bands like Slothrust or Deftones,” says Dana Margolin. . In the beginning it was a song about a power dynamic where I had control, in the end it was a song where I had none.

Watch the video for “The Rip” below.

Read more about “The Tear”:

“My friends always accuse me of making up idioms and using them as if they were familiar phrases and I think this song is full of that,” Margolin continues. “I like the idea of ​​something being sick at the seams, like it’s disintegrating from its core. I like things so simple that they’re universal. I wanted it to sound like when your heart breeze so hard your whole body hurts I wanted it to feel like your soul is coming out of your body.

In addition to “The Rip”, Water slide, diving board, ladder to the sky features the previously released “Back To The Radio”.

Water slide, diving board, ladder to the Sky was co-produced by Tom Carmichael, Margolin and drummer Sam Yardley. Margolin says she wanted the band’s next album to be “a stadium epic, like Coldplay”.

Discover the tracklist of Water slide, diving board, ladder to the sky below.

Water slide, diving board, ladder to the sky List of tracks:

01 – “Back to the radio”
02 – “Try”
03 – “Birthday Party”
04 – “End of Last Year”
05 – “Rotten”
06 – “You can be happy if you want”
07 – “Flowers”
08 – “Jealousy”
09 – “I hope she’s okay 2”
10 – “Exploded”
11 – “The Tear”
12 – “Water slide, diving board, ladder to the sky”

[Read More] Porridge Radio covers Wolf Parade’s “You Are A Runner And I Am My Father’s Son”

Comments are closed.